Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  

15 bicycles and other prizes awarded to top 15 essayists

Recommended Posts



Prize distribution program of the short essay competition organized by WNSO-Nepal was held on 30th December 30, 2009 at Kantipur City College. the topic of essay competition was I am not emitting anymore!


The context behind the essay contest was that the world leaders, then December 18 in Copenhagen, did not come up with some agreement to deal with the climate change.


The winners were Saraswoti Poudel, Srijana Marasini, Rashmi Rana Magar, Tilak Bhattarai, Rajendra Dulal, Abhinav Khanal, Prashant Raut, Pushpa Lata KC, Sabitra Dhakal, Nitesh Sharma Ghimire, Krishana Gyanwali, Purushottam Lamichhane, Yashoda Aryal, Suman Udas and Paras Khanal.


The distribution of prizes was an iconic to exhibit that Nepalese youth have begun to stop the emissions of green house gases. The top 15 essayists got prizes as:

1) Top 5: a bicycle, a jute bag and 2 CFL packs each

2) Next 5: a bicycle and a jute bag each

3) Next 5: a bicycle each


The Program co-ordinator was the organisations' treasurer Mr. Dipesh Dulal.


The chief guest was Hon. Ganesh Shah. Guests were Mr. Tek Jung Mahat (Node Manager, Asia Pacific Mountain Forum), Mr.Abhisek Shrestha (Sub Co-ordinator, Nepalese Youth for Climate Action). Mr. Yadav Bhattarai chaired the program. The jury members for sorting out the top 15 essays were Mr. Rabin Bastola (ENPHO), Mr. Pralhad Karki (Principal, KCC, Putalisadak), Mr. JN Kharel (Founder member, WNSO Nepal) and Mr. Arjun Subedi (Executive member, WNSO Nepal).


The program started at 11.30 am. It was hosted by Prashant Raut. The program started with the welcome speech of program co-ordinator, Mr. Dipesh Dulal. He focused on the objective of the essay contest. He acknowledged the supporters YOUNGO (Coalition of Global Youth NGOs working on climate advocacy), Nature and Youth (Denmark). Then Hon. Ganesh Shah delivered a short speech emphasizing that Nepalese students are making impact globally. He too highlighted “Writing makes a man perfect.” encouraging youth to write. He said that climate change can be issue of conflict between developed and developing countries.


Mr. Pralhad Karki, Principal of KCC, announced the names of the top 15 winners. After the prize distribution, Saraswoti Poudel, first rank winner of the competition recited her essay. The program ended with closing speech of Mr. Yadav Prasad Bhattarai.




WNSO-Nepal called Nepalese Youth (ages 17 - 28) to submit their commitment essays. The announcement of essay competition was done on 15th December, 2009.

Edited by dipeshmnm

Share this post

Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

  • Create New...

Important Information

By using this site, you agree to our Terms of Use.